Skip to main content

2020–2021 Goldstine Fellowship

2020–2021 IBM Herman Goldstine Postdoctoral Fellowship in Mathematical Sciences


Herman Goldstine
Herman Goldstine

The IBM Research Mathematical Sciences Council invites applications for its 2020–2021 Herman Goldstine Memorial Postdoctoral Fellowship for research in mathematical and computer sciences. The fellowship provides scientists of outstanding ability an opportunity to advance their scholarship as resident department members at one of the IBM Research laboratories. The main hub of mathematical sciences activities in IBM Research is at the IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center in Westchester County, less than an hour north of New York City. Math Sciences research is also pursued at many of our global lab locations around the world.

IBM Research provides an atmosphere in which basic research is combined with work on practical applications. Our permanent members, academic visitors, and post-doctoral fellows pursue research in pure and applied mathematics and in theoretical and exploratory computer science. Areas of research include: algorithms, artificial intelligence and machine learning, numerical analysis and scientific computing, dynamical systems, inverse problems, optimization, operations research, applied probability, and statistics. Close interaction with permanent department members is expected and encouraged, but fellows are free to pursue their own research interests.

Up to two fellowships will be awarded. Candidates must have received a Ph.D. degree after September 2015 or should expect to receive one before the fellowship commences in the second half of 2020 (usually in September). The fellowship has a period of one year, and may be extended for another year by mutual agreement.

Application process

An application should be submitted by January 20, 2020 via (job id: #15531). It should consist of:

A cover letter is not required. We strongly prefer all documents in PDF format.

Questions can be addressed to

IBM is committed to workplace diversity, and is proud to be an equal-opportunity employer.

List of current and former Fellows

A partial list of awardees of the Fellowship before it was named “Goldstine”: