2016 IBM Ph.D. Fellowship awardees

IBM created the Ph.D. Fellowship program in the 1950's to recognize and support outstanding graduate students. The IBM Ph.D. Fellowship Awards Program is an intensely competitive worldwide program, which honors exceptional Ph.D. students who have an interest in solving problems that are important to IBM and fundamental to innovation in many academic disciplines and areas of study. This includes pioneering work in: cognitive computing and augmented intelligence; quantum computing; blockchain; data-centric systems; advanced analytics; security; radical cloud innovation; next-generation silicon (and beyond); and brain-inspired devices and infrastructure.

Congratulations to 2016 IBM Ph.D. Fellows!

Iftekhar Ahmed, Oregon State University

Jun Araki, Carnegie Mellon University

Arturs Backurs, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Masoud Badiei Khuzani, Harvard University

Mossaab Bagdouri, University of Maryland College Park

Silvina Caino, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid - University Carlos III, Madrid

William Candela, Pontifícia Universidade Católica

Dai Wang-Zhou, Nanjing University

David Dov, Technion, Israel Institute of Technology

Anca Dumitrache, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam - Vrije University, Amsterdam

Anca Dumitrache, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam - Vrije University, Amsterdam

Glauber Gonçalves, Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais

Nanbo Gong, Yale University

Soehnke Grams, Universität Koblenz-Landau - University of Koblenz-Landau

Hui Guan, North Carolina State University

Jia Tong, Peking University

Mark Law, Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine, London

Changchang Liu, Princeton University

Bernhard Loitsch, Technische Universität München - Technical University of Munich

Mario Lucic, ETHZ - Federal Institute of Technology Zürich

Suman Kalyan Maity, Indian Institute of Technology - IIT Kharagpur

Lee Martie, University of California-Irvine

Kuldeep Meel, Rice University

Mahya Mirzaei Poueinag, University of Technology, Sydney

Tanushree Mitra, Georgia Institute of Technology

Thien Nguyen, New York University

Deepak Mishra, Indian Institute of Technology - IIT Delhi

Gianluca Panici, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Sikhar Patranabis, Indian Institute of Technology - IIT Kharagpur

Bruno Umbria Pedroni, University of California-San Diego

Alexander Ponomarenko, Higher School of Economics

Neelam Prabhu Gaukar, Iowa State University

Cosmin Radoi, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Mrinmaya Sachan, Carnegie Mellon University

Joshua San Miguel, University of Toronto

Thomas Schlegl, Medizinische Universität Wien - Medical University of Vienna

Neha Sengupta, Indian Institute of Technology - IIT Delhi

Ioannis Sfakianakis, University of Crete, Heraklion

Sonia Soubam, Indraprastha Institute of Information Technology, Delhi (IIIT-D)

Christian Stab, Technische Universitãt Darmstadt - Technical University of Darmstadt

Harish Sukhwani, Duke University

Pailla Tejaswy, University of California-San Diego

Shay Vargaftik, Technion, Israel Institute of Technology

Michael Võssing, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)

Tim Waizenegger, Universitãt Stuttgart - University of Stuttgart

Sean Wilner, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Christine Wolf, University of California-Irvine

Bin Xu, Cornell University

Jialun Yin, Tsinghua University

Noga Zaslavsky, Hebrew University

Xiao Zhang, Xi'an Jiaotong University

Rong Zhu, Harbin Institute of Technology

Interested in applying for next year? Nominations from faculty advisors are accepted in September and October; ask your faculty advisor if they are planning to participate.